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Proposed Rulemakings

= ANGEL INVESTMENTS

The DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
AND  ECONOMIC  OPPORTUNITY
proposed amendments to Angel
Investment Credit Program (14 IAC
531; 48 Il Reg 5851) expanding
eligibility criteria for the credit. A
qualified new business venture will
meet the minimum employment
threshold for a qualifying investment
if at least 51% of its employee
positions are in |lllinois, or if its
principal place of business is in Illinois.
(Currently, a business must meet both
criteria and at least 75% of the
employee positions created following
receipt of the qualifying investment
must be in Illinois.) “Principal place of
business” is defined as the location
where the business’ high-level officers
direct, control, and coordinate the
business’ activities. The sunset date
for the program is extended to
12/31/26, and effective 1/1/24, the
maximum tax credit is increased to
35% of the credit claimant’s

investment in a qualified new business
venture if the business is majority
owned by minorities, women, or
persons with disabilities, or is located
in a county with no more than 250,000
residents. The total amount of tax
credits that may be awarded under
this program is increased to $15
million (previously $10 million) per
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calendar year, of which $5 million will
be reserved for minority-, women-
and disability-owned businesses and
businesses located in less populated
counties. At least $2.5 million in
credits will be earmarked for
investments in minority-owned
businesses made on or after 1/1/24.
Investors in small businesses may be
affected.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments through 6/3/24:

Gina Arterberry, DCEO, 607 E. Adams
St., 12" Floor, Springfield IL 62701,
217-524-8974,
Gina.M.Arterberry@illinois.gov

= ID/DD FACILITIES

The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
proposed amendments to
Intermediate Care for the
Developmentally Disabled Facilities
Code (77 IAC 350; 48 Ill Reg 5862) and
Medically Complex for the
Developmentally Disabled Facilities
Code (77 IAC 390; 48 Il Reg 5877)
implementing a temporary (3 year)
certified nursing assistant (CNA) intern
program established by Public Act
102-1037. The rulemakings reflect
statutory provisions that limit CNA
interns to performing only duties
delegated to them by a supervising
nurse and permitted under the ID/DD
and MC/DD Acts. Facilities must
implement written policies describing

(cont. page 2)

ADOPTED RULES: Rules adopted by agencies this week. EMERGENCY RULES: Temporary rules adopted for no more than 150 days.

PROPOSED RULEMAKINGS: Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a First Notice public comment period of at least 45 days.
PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.

= - Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities and/or non-profit organizations. Agencies must consider

comments from these groups and attempt to minimize regulatory burdens on them.

QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: Submit mail, e-mail or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.
RULE TEXT: First Notice proposed text, emergency rule and peremptory rule text is available at the Secretary of State website
(https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/home.html) or at the lllinois General Assembly website (http://www.ilga.gov) under “lllinois

Register”. Second Notice text for proposed rulemakings (original version with any changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is

available at the JCAR website.
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the duties, supervision and evaluation
of CNA interns and make this policy
available to DPH and to surveyors. If a
CNA intern performs tasks outside the
scope of the intern’s duties, the facility
must stop the intern from performing
these tasks, assign them to an
appropriate staff member, and have a
registered nurse assess the condition
of any resident involved in that task.
No more than 15% of each resident’s
nursing and personal care time may be
performed by a CNA intern. Facilities
that violate these rules are subject to
civil penalties or fines. The CNA intern
program rules will be repealed 3 years
after their effective date. Facilities for
persons with developmental
disabilities are affected.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments on the 2 DPH
rulemakings through 6/3/24: Tracey
Trigillo, DPH, 524 S. Second St., 6 Fl.,
Springfield IL 62701,
dph.rules@illinois.qov

STUDENT ASSISTANCE

The ILLINOIS STUDENT ASSISTANCE
COMMISSION proposed amendments
to General Provisions (23 IAC 2700; 48
Il Reg 5891) clarifying the residency
status of dependent students who
must list an out-of-state parent
contributor on their Free Application
for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The
student will qualify as an lllinois
resident for State financial aid
purposes if the student physically

resides in lllinois with the other
parent. Institutions may, in these
situations, allow the dependent

student’s financial aid eligibility to be
based on the contribution of the
Illinois  resident parent. Other
provisions add a definition for the

federal Student Aid Index for
determining financial need and clarify
the definition of an “educational
planning service provider” to exclude
institutions of higher education that
include these services in their financial
aid or career counseling services.

ISAC also proposed amendments to
Nursing Education Scholarships (23
IAC 2749; 48 Ill Reg 5913), lllinois
Graduate and Retain Our Workforce
(iIGROW) Tech Scholarship Program
(23 IAC 2750; 48 Ill Reg 5949) and
Community Behavioral Health Care
Professional Loan Repayment
Program (23 IAC 2753; 48 lll Reg 5956).
Amendments to Part 2749 update
provisions of the nursing education
scholarship program (transferred to
ISAC from the Department of Public
Health) to reflect ISAC policy and
remove no longer used definitions and
cross references. The Part 2750
rulemaking clarifies that applicants for
the iGROW program must complete
the FAFSA and that ISAC will
determine the maximum award
amount annually; allows extension of
the repayment period when an
employment obligation cannot be
fulfilled due to military service or
temporary disability; and clarifies how
scholarship awards are determined
when combined with other forms of
financial assistance. The Part 2753
amendments increase the maximum
amount of student loan repayment
assistance for graduates in various
behavioral health specialties, ranging
from $4,000 (currently $2,500) per

year for certified alcohol/drug
counselors and recovery support
specialists to $40,000 (currently

$35,000) per year for psychiatrists.
Eligibility for loan repayment is also
extended to licensed marriage and
family therapists; professionals with
master’s or bachelor’s degrees in
counseling, psychology, social work,
or marriage and family therapy; and
professionals working at behavioral
health clinics, substance use
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treatment centers, or State-operated
psychiatric hospitals licensed or
certified by the Department of Human
Services or Department of Healthcare
and Family Services. Each fiscal year,
at least 30% of funding for the loan
repayment program must be set aside
for African-American/Black, Hispanic,
Asian, or Native American applicants.
If by January 1 ISAC has not received
minority applications that total 30% or
more of available funding, remaining
funds for that fiscal year may be
awarded to other qualified applicants.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments on the 4 ISAC
rulemakings through 6/3/24: Jackie
Eckley, ISAC, 500 W. Monroe St., 3" Fl.,
Springfield IL 62704, 217-782-5161,
jackie.eckley@illinois.gov

= CANNABIS INFUSERS

The DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
proposed an amendment to the Part
titled Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act
(8 IAC1300; 48 Ill Reg 5844) correcting
errors in the listed fees for
modifications and alternations to
licensed infuser facilities.  For
modifications to a license, a fee of
$1,250 is due at the time of
application, with an additional fee of
$750 due upon approval of the
application. For alterations to a facility
that do not require an amendment to
the license, the application fee is $250.
DOA will refund the excess portion of
any fee paid by an applicant prior to
9/1/24 that was higher than the
amounts listed in this rulemaking.
Cannabis infuser license holders are
affected.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments through 6/3/24:
Sam McGee, DOA, State Fairgrounds,
PO Box 19281, Springfield IL 62794-
9281, 217-558-3741,
Samuel.McGee@illinois.qov




JCAR Meeting Action

At its 4/16/24 meeting, the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules approved the following actions. Proposed rulemakings from this
agenda that are not listed below received No Objection and may be adopted by their agencies. Emergency rules not acted upon at this
meeting may be reconsidered at later meetings.

OBJECTION
JCAR objected to the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity’s rulemaking titled Grocery Store Initiative Grant Program
(14 IAC 645; 47 1ll Reg 19258) because the Department invoked the contents of this rule prior to adoption in violation of Section 5-10(c)
of the lllinois Administrative Procedure Act [5 ILCS 100], which states that no agency rule is valid or effective against any person or
party, nor may it be invoked by the agency for any purpose, until it has been made available for public inspection and filed with the
Secretary of State. On April 9, 2024, the Department announced by press release that applications for the Equipment Upgrades Program,
which is described in this rule, are now closed and under review. If applications are already closed, then the Department invoked the
eligibility criteria and application procedures found in this rule prior to JCAR’s review and prior to the rule’s adoption. Moreover,
according to the Department’s April 9, 2024 press release, Equipment Upgrade Program eligibility criteria not found in this rule are
used. The Department is asked to review the application requirements and grant eligibility criteria it plans to enforce and ensure those
items appear in this rule.
EXTENSIONS

JCAR, with the concurrence of the respective agencies, extended the Second Notice periods for the following rulemakings an additional
45 days. These rulemakings will be considered again at the May 14 JCAR meeting.

Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Clinical Social Work and Social Work Practice Act (68 IAC 1470; 47 Ill Reg 18815)

Department of Natural Resources, Timber Buyer Licensing and Harvesting Fees (17 IAC 1535; 47 Ill Reg 17755), The lllinois Explosives
Act (62 IAC 200; 47 Ill Reg 11324), and Surfaced Mined Land Conservation and Reclamation Act (62 IAC 300; 47 Ill Reg 11373)

State Board of Education, Public Schools Evaluation, Recognition and Supervision (23 IAC 1; 47 Ill Reg 16165)
POSTPONEMENT

JCAR postponed action on the Department on Aging rulemaking titled Community Care Program (89 IAC 240; 47 Ill Reg 15309), which
is currently on extended Second Notice, until the May 14 meeting.



Adopted Rules

= DAY CARE HOMES

The DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND
FAMILY SERVICES adopted
amendments to Licensing Standards
for Group Day Care Homes (89 IAC
408; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 16140)
effective 4/3/24 at 48 Ill Reg 5963,
that permit group day care homes
with extended capacity licenses
(allowing them to care for up to 16
children instead of the normal limit of
12) to care for two additional children
30 months of age or older, along with
two additional school-age children
(present only before or after school or
when school is not in session),
provided that the caregiver has 2 or
more adult assistants present at all
times when the additional children
ages 30 months or older are being
cared for. (Formerly, the 4 additional
children accommodated under an
extended capacity license had to all be
school-age.) These provisions will be
in effect through 7/1/25. If more than
12 children are being cared for, the
caregiver’s own school-age children
must be counted among the
additional school-age children for this
purpose. The total capacity of a home
with an extended capacity license
remains capped at 16 children. Group
day care homes are affected by this
rulemaking.

Questions/requests for copies:
Tamara Bristow, DCFS, 406 E. Monroe,
Station #65, Springfield IL 62701-
1498, 217-524-1983,
DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov

DRIVERS' LICENSES

The SECRETARY OF STATE adopted
amendments to Issuance of Licenses
(92 IAC 1030; proposed at 47 Ill Reg
12704) effective 4/5/24 at 48 Ill Reg
6081, that allow SOS to disclose
driver’s license and identification card
photographs to public defenders for

use in defense of their clients in traffic
or criminal cases. The rulemaking also
requires documents submitted in the
course of an application for a driver’s
license or identification card in a
language other than English to be
translated into English and the
translation to be accompanied by a
certification of the translator's
competency. Since 1% Notice, SOS has
clarified that acceptable documents
for the license/ID application process
must be paper copies (not cell phone
images) and credit card statements or
utility bills used for this purpose must
be dated within the past 90 days.

Questions/requests for copies: Pamela
Wright, SOS, 298 Howlett Building,
Springfield IL 62756, 217-785-3094,
pwright@ilsos.qgov

= RENT-TO-OWN TAXES

The DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
adopted a new Part titled Rental
Purchase Agreement Occupation and
Use Tax Act (86 IAC 125; proposed at
47 Ill Reg 17948) effective 4/2/24 at 48
Il Reg 6048, implementing Public Act
100-437, which was effective 1/1/18.
The PA and this Part impose a 6.25%
occupation tax upon merchants who
rent merchandise under a rental-
purchase agreement in lllinois (e.g.,
“rent-to-own” appliance and furniture
stores), along with a use tax to the
customer at the rate of 6.25% of the
rental price paid to the merchant
under the rental-purchase agreement.
The tax applies to any rental
agreement for personal or household
items, with an initial term of 4 months
or less, that is automatically
renewable with each payment and
that eventually allows the customer to
become the owner of the items.
Merchants must obtain certificates of
registration from DOR (if they do not
already have Retailer’s Occupation
Tax registration with DOR) and record
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gross receipts from rental payments
and pay tax on them as they are
received. Rent-to-own merchants and
their customers are affected.

= CANNABIS TAXES

DOR also adopted amendments to
Cannabis Cultivation Privilege Tax (86
IAC 422; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 17966)
effective 4/2/24 at 48 Ill Reg 6069,
clarifying that the transfer of cannabis
or cannabis concentrate from a
cultivator to an infuser, under an
agreement whereby the cultivator
retains ownership of the cannabis or
concentrate and the infuser is merely
creating cannabis-infused products for
the cultivator to resell, is not a “first
sale” on which the cultivator would
owe tax. Examples of transactions
that meet these criteria are included,
along with recordkeeping
requirements for these transfers.
Cannabis cultivators and infusers are
affected.

TAXPAYER RIGHTS

DOR adopted an amendment to the
Part titled Taxpayer Rights (86 IAC
205; proposed at 47 Il Reg 17380)
effective 4/2/24 at 48 Ill Reg 6065,
updating statutory language to reflect
additions to the Taxpayer Bill of Rights
Act [20 ILCS 2520]. The amendment
requires DOR to systematically
identify areas of recurrent taxpayer
noncompliance  with  rules or
guidelines and report these findings to
the General Assembly on an annual
basis. It also requires DOR, in cases
where an audit finds no violations, to
send the taxpayer a closing letter
acknowledging that no violations were
found. If an audit finds deficiencies in
a taxpayer’s recordkeeping or
recommends changes in the record-

(cont. page 5)



Adopted Rules

(cont. from page 4)

keeping process, the auditor must
provide these recommendations to
the taxpayer in writing and also
disclose (unless the taxpayer declines)
the audit methods and procedures
used.

DOR PUBLIC INFORMATION

Finally, DOR adopted an amendment
to Charitable Games Act (86 IAC 435;
proposed at 47 lll Reg 15629) effective
4/2/24 at 48 lll Reg 6076, that updates
contact information for DOR’s Office
of Bingo and Charitable Games.

Questions/requests for copies of the 4
DOR rulemakings: Parts 125 and 422,
Alexis K. Overstreet; Part 205,
Kimberly Rossini; Part 435, Brian
Fliflet; DOR, 101 W. Jefferson St.,
Springfield IL 62794, 217-782-2844.

= OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY

The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION adopted
amendments to the Part titled lllinois
Occupational Therapy Practice Act (68
IAC 1315; proposed at 47 Il Reg
17339) effective 4/5/24 at 48 |ll Reg
5981, that add continuing education
(CE) requirements for  sexual
harassment prevention, implicit bias
awareness, and dementia recognition;
allow fieldwork education of OT and
OT assistants, mentoring of OT
doctoral degree candidates, and work
on a professional development plan to
count toward CE requirements; and
include the Illinois State Board of
Education and educational
associations (such as the lllinois
Education Association and National
Education Association) as approved
sponsors of continuing education. The
rulemaking also caps the required CE
for restoration of a license lapsed for 5
years or longer at 24 hours (currently,

60 hours), all of which must be earned
within 24 months prior to the
application for license restoration. At
least 3 of these hours must cover
updates to professional practice
standards and relevant laws and
regulations. Other provisions include a
more detailed list of allowable
modalities of occupational therapy
that use electricity, application of heat
or cold, application of mechanical
forces (e.g., pressure, vibration), or
intramuscular manual therapy (dry
needling), and add training and
practice requirements for the use of
dry needling. Occupational therapists
and assistants and persons applying
for OT licensure or renewal are
affected.

= OPTOMETRISTS

DFPR also adopted amendments to
the Part titled Optometric Practice Act
of 1987 (68 IAC 1320; proposed at 47
Ill Reg 13402) effective 4/5/24 at 48 IlI
Reg 6009, that allow most continuing
education (CE) to be completed online
either through live or pre-recorded
presentations  beginning  4/1/24.
However, online courses cannot be
counted toward out of state CE credit.
Previous limits on the number of
hours of CE that can be completed
online are removed. New CE
requirements, for all license renewals
after 1/1/23, include sexual
harassment prevention and implicit
bias awareness training (required for
all DFPR healthcare licensees in 68 IAC
1130) and, for licensees who hold
controlled substance licenses, opioid
education required by the lllinois
Controlled Substances Act. These
courses must be repeated each license
renewal period. The rulemaking also
removes specific time requirements
for training courses in diagnostic and
topical ocular pharmaceutical agents
and therapeutic clinical procedures.
Applicants for licensure will now be
required to complete a
comprehensive course in ocular
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pharmaceutical agents (previously, a
120-hour course) and prevent
"evidence satisfactory" to DFPR of
training in these subjects within 3
years prior to application. Other
changes allow optometrists with
controlled substance licenses to
prescribe up to a 30-day supply
(formerly, 72 hours) of Schedule Il
through V controlled substances;
allow oral steroids to be prescribed for
no more than 7 days; remove fees for
wall certificates (which are no longer
being issued) and for producing a
roster (as the information is available
online), and no longer require the
Director to notify the Board of
variances. Optometrists and their
employers are affected by this
rulemaking.

= PHYSICAL THERAPY

DFPR adopted an amendment to the
Part titled lllinois Physical Therapy Act
(68 IAC 1340; proposed at 47 Ill Reg
17367) effective 4/5/24 at 48 Ill Reg
6035, to correct an error regarding
continuing education requirements.
The amendment will allow physical
therapists to earn up to 10 hours of CE
for clinical instruction and physical
therapist assistants to earn up to 5
hours of CE for clinical instruction.
Current rule has the numbers
reversed, with assistants being
allowed 10 hours and therapists only 5
hours.

Questions/requests for copies of the 3
DFPR rulemakings: Craig Cellini, DFPR,
320 W. Washington St., 4% Floor,
Springfield IL 62786, 217-785-0810,
fax 217-557-4451,
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov

UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFITS
The DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT
SECURITY adopted amendments to

the Part now titled Noncitizen Status

(cont. page 6)
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(56 IAC 2905; proposed at 47 Ill Reg
18243) effective 4/3/24 at 48 Ill Reg
5974. These amendments change the
name of the Part (formerly Alien
Status), replace the term “alien” with
“noncitizen” and update references to
the federal agencies that address
immigration-related matters. Since 1%
Notice, DES has clarified language
explaining how legal U.S. residency
status must be documented.

Questions/requests for copies: Kevin

Lovellette, DES, 33 S. State St., 9%
Floor, Chicago IL 60603, 312-793-

Second Notices

1224, fax: 312-793-5645,
Kevin.Lovellette @illinois.qgov

TEACHERS’ RETIREMENT

The TEACHERS' RETIREMENT SYSTEM
adopted amendments to The
Administration and Operation of the
Teachers' Retirement System (80 IAC
1650; proposed 47 Il Reg 17403)
effective 4/5/24 at 48 Ill Reg 6117,
that remove the one-year limit on paid
leaves of absence; implement PA 103-
525, which allows teachers to
purchase optional TRS service credit
for paid student teaching, by
establishing eligibility requirements
for purchasing this service credit; and
allow extra duty pay for work that

does not require teacher licensure to
count toward pensionable salary
when performed by a TRS member in
a TRS-reportable position and when it
includes supervision of students
related to the academic program.
(Previously, extra duty pay was
counted as salary when earned by a
full-time or part-time contractual
teacher, but not when earned by a
substitute or part-time non-
contractual teacher.)

Questions/requests for copies: Cynthia
Fain, TRS, 2815 W. Washington St., PO
Box 19253, Springfield IL 62794-9243,

217-814-2041, cfain@trsil.org

The following rulemakings were moved to Second Notice this week by the agencies listed below, commencing the JCAR review period.
These rulemakings will be considered at the May 14, 2024 meeting in Springfield. Further comments concerning these rulemakings
should be addressed to JCAR at jcar@ilga.gov.

DEPT OF CENTRAL MANAGEMENT SERVICES
Federal Surplus Property: lllinois State Plan, State Agency for Federal Surplus Property
(44 1AC 5020; 48 Ill Reg 1980) proposed 2/9/24

DEPT OF COMMERCE AND ECONOMIC OPPORTUNITY
Manufacturing lllinois Chips for Real Opportunity (MICRO) Act (14 IAC 120; 47 Ill Reg 14153) proposed 10/13/23

ILLINOIS MEDICAL DISTRICT COMMISSION
Public Information and Organization (2 IAC 2525; 48 Il Reg 811) proposed 1/12/24

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION
Evaluation of Educator Licensed Employees Under Articles 24A and 34 of the School Code
(23 IAC 50; 47 Ill Reg 16309) proposed 11/17/23

Dismissal of Tenured Teachers Under Article 24 and Dismissal of Tenured Teachers and Principals Under Article 34 of the School Code
(23 IAC 51; 47 Ill Reg 16318) proposed 11/17/23



Next JCAR Meeting: Tuesday, May 14, 10:30 a.m.

Room C-1, Stratton Bldg., 401 S. Spring St., Springfield
Meeting will be live streamed on the JCAR website
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